Ikorodu City FC ended its first ever Federation Cup game with a 3-0 win over Crusaders FC of Bayelsa State, at the Dan Ayam Stadium, Owerri.

Coach Sadiq Dabiri made four changes to the side that started our Lagos FA Cup triumph over Smart City with Hassan, Taheer, Toheeb and Alex back to the starting XI.

It was a quiet first ten minutes with no attempt on goal but Ikorodu City stamped their authority in the game and became familiar with the surface.

The first goal came in the 41st minute after a great team play saw Hassan go past a defender and sent in low cross to Farouk Salami, who then put the ball beyond Crusader goalkeeper.

The second half started with a change as Waliu Ojetoye replaced Gabriel Adewara who wasn’t feeling too well after the first 45 minutes.

The Oga Boys quickly took command of the game, creating chances despite little scare from the opposition, forcing Victor into brilliant saves.

Hassan missed a good chance before the Lagos-based team got the second goal of the game. The ball dallied around the area before Farouk got his shot away but it came off the upright. Sabastian was however there, staying up after the set piece leading to the chance and he stroke it beautifully into the bottom corner.

Kenechukwu got a chance on the break and tried to lob the goalkeeper after coming on but his effort was a little too high but the goal to seal it came afterwards. 

Uche was shown a second yellow and was sent out after which Waliu bursted with pace to rob a defender at the byline and connected  Toheeb Gidado with a pass.

Toheeb calmly  take away the goalkeeper with his dribbled and score his team’s third goal with the last kick of the game.

Ikorodu City progress to the round of 32 but attention now shift to the league with a home game against Ekiti United on Saturday at Mobolaji Johnson Arena, to start the second half of the season.


OUT- Gabriel Adewara IN- Waliu Ojetoye

OUT- Ayoade Babatunde IN- Tosin Oyedokun

OUT- Taheer Abubarkar IN-Stephen Ezemaiwe

OUT- Farouk Salami  IN- Kenechukwu Ezeja

OUT- Hassan Olubode  IN- Adedoyin Odole